OSWtv Meets…Darren Lewis

When did you start watching wrestling and was there a moment that got you hooked?

I really started watching wrestling from a very young age and can’t remember an exact time of when this would have been. What I can remember is when I became hooked…the attitude era was just amazing and the Monday night wars just seemed to add to the drama.

My brother was very young at this time but I remember WWF as it was at the time was something we both enjoyed and as most young boys do we had all the action figures etc.

Wrestling just feels like something I have always enjoyed watching and learning about.

What made you decide to start training to be a wrestler and where did you start?

I began training back in 2004 with a really close friend, Scott Renwick.

I had gone to a live WWE event in Newcastle with family in and when coming out of the event a guy handed me a leaflet for a local Newcastle training school. The very next day I searched the web and after a while I eventually came across a company called Scottish Championship Wrestling who had a new training school in Linwood, Glasgow.

Both Scott and myself attended the next beginners class and we got hooked.

SCW didn’t stay in business for long and closed down not long after we started training.

However, the school was then quickly reopened by Peter Murphy (Conscience).

I have a lot to thank Peter for over the years as he provided a lot of guidance over the years with Adam Shame and Eric Cannon also taking a lot of time and effort with us.

I had the real positive experience of learning to wrestle with guys like Damian O’Connor, Chris Renfrew, Scott Renwick, Grado, Glen Dunbar and many many more.

It is great to see so many of the guys going from strength to strength and have made real names for themselves.

Who are your biggest influences in professional wrestling?

In terms of the Scottish scene and guys that have helped me to get to the position I am in I have a lot of time for all the trainees that graduated from Area 52 at the same time as me as we all really helped each other. I also have a lot to thank Adam, Eric and Conscience for but I also had a great run with Majik who gave me a lot of advice and guidance before, during and after our matches.

From the American scene I would have to say from a historic point of view it would definitely have to be The Undertaker, Ric Flair and of course Hulk Hogan.

Hulk Hogan for me had the crowd pumped constantly, Flair was an amazing wrestler and told a story in the ring as well as being a fantastic heel. The Undertaker was just magical to watch and just seemed to have everyone in the palm of his hands.

More current wrestlers would include Bobby Roode, CM Punk and Randy Orton. For me, Roode is a fantastic wrestler, CM Punk brought back some reality to wrestling and Randy Orton is just fantastic at his gimmick and a great heel.

Do you have any favourite matches or opponents that you have worked with?

I have had some great matches over the years of wrestling. I had a small number of matches with my close friend Scott Renwick and these have always been hard hitting! A best of 5 series with Chris Renfrew in the very early years of my career was fantastic and we knocked lumps out of each other as well as poking me in the eye 2 minutes in, eh Chris! Talk about wrestling one eyed haha.

I also had a small run with Majik and this was a real learning experience and loved the promos we done.

More recently with my time at Reckless Intent I have had a couple of outstanding matches with Mikey and also a triple threat with both Mikey and Rawlins which was a great main event!

What have been your highlights so far in your wrestling career?

Highlights…..

I would say I have had so many with the guys I have worked with.

I trained and wrestled with SWA from 2002-2008 before taking time out to get married and have a family.

I was lucky enough to be SWA T Division champion as well as SWA tag champion with Adam Shame.

In 2005 I was very lucky to receive a call from Tommy Dreamer inviting me to a WWE tryout in Manchester. This was an awesome experience and something I will always remember. This opportunity ultimately provided me with the idea for my gimmick as ‘The Superstar’ Darren Lewis.

More recently I have been back training and assisting with training at Reckless Intent since October/November 2013 and have loved every minute.

My first match for RI was against Mikey and I was very proud to become RI World Champion during this match.

Reckless Intent have a fantastic mega show double header weekend on the 2nd and 3rd May at the RI Unit in Livingston.

2 thoughts on “OSWtv Meets…Darren Lewis

Get Involved!

