OSWtv Meets…Mikey

When did you start watching wrestling and was there a moment that got you hooked?

I have never really been asked this.

My first memories of it I think I was about 6/7 years old. I had a friend at school that was really into it. He loved guys like X-Pac and Bret Hart and we would watch wrestling when hanging out after school. From there I was introduced to WWF. It was the Attitude Era and everything about it was just awesome. Stone Cold, The Rock, Triple H, Mick Foley, Edge, Christian, The Hardyz these guys all stood out for me. Seeing these guys had me hooked on wrestling. One match I saw that stands out for me and is one of my favorite matches ever is Triple H and Cactus Jack from Royal Rumble 2000 that match had everything that made me love wrestling. I remember about this time family members used to ask me what I wanted to be when I was older…and I would tell them I wanted to be a wrestler.

Once I got a bit older I kind of grew out of wrestling, mainly during the years at high school. I played football during those years. I would occasionally dip in and out of it to see what was going on.

I was about 17 when I really got back in to wrestling again. I made a few new friends who loved watching the monthly pay-per-views. We would all meet up every month and watch the pay-per-views, stay up all night watching Raw. Those days made me love wrestling and I have never looked back since.

What made you decide to start training to be a wrestler and where did you start?

It was just by chance, it was never something that had crossed my mind. I never knew it existed in Scotland. It was my friend at the time called me up one day and was telling me he had found a local wrestling school in West Lothian called SSW. I had decided I was finished playing football as I got bored of it and needed something new and exciting. John and I went along on tried out training.

The training there wasn’t great. It was a really poor facility and the trainers didn’t know shit.

They taught me to bump – that’s all. The rest I learned from other people. SSW would bring up UK Kid in 2008/2009 and I would say I learned more in 3/4 seminars with UK Kid than I did in 3 years at SSW. And over the last 2 years I have learned from so many people by going to seminars and training with other companies as often as I can.

I achieved a lot back in SSW though, I would go in and train as hard as I could and push myself to my absolute limits. I won their annual King of the Bing tournament in 2009 and later that year won the SSW Worlds’ Title.

Who are your biggest influences in professional wrestling?

Anyone who knows me will say that I love CM Punk.

I was always a fan of his. He really became a role model to me back in 2012. I had recently had major knee surgery after rupturing my ACL and there was a lot of things going on at home as well as starting up Reckless Intent. There was a point with my injury where I thought I was never going to do any sport again – let alone wrestle. I had got a copy of Best in The World DVD and I watched it over and over. Punks story inspired me. It motivated me at a time where I could have easily have walked away and gave up. CM Punk’s matches and his story – they’re probably one of the main reasons I’m doing what I’m doing today.

Another one of my biggest influences is my best mate Stevie ‘Dark Angel’. He has always believed in me and has been there from the first day I started training back in 2007. Although he is no longer involved in wrestling he is always there to give me advice whenever I need it.

Other wrestlers that have influenced me are guys like Steve Corino, Chris Hero, William Regal, Kurt Angle, Triple H, Mick Foley, El Generico and Chris Jericho. My list could probably go on and on.

Recently I have been able to look closer to home for influences. There are a lot of really hard working people out there who I had the pleasure of meeting over the last 6 months. They have a lot of passion for this business and it has been an honour for me to chat with them and have them share their knowledge with me.

Do you have any favorite matches or opponents that you have worked with?

Over the last few months I have been working with Darren Lewis. The guy hadn’t wrestled in about 5/6 years and then in February he made his debut in Reckless Intent. The guy is talented and it is a shame he stepped away from the ring for so long but it was a pleasure to be the guy that worked him in his return.

Here is some of our matches:

I always love stepping in to the ring with Rawlins. Like he said in his Q&A with you, we always go out there are get the best out of each other and really try to tear the roof off the place. And this exactly what we plan to do on May 3rd when I wrestle him for the Reckless Intent World Title.

Jackie Grady is one of my favourite opponents. When I first met this kid I never thought he would have made the progress that he has. We have a lot of fun working with each other and I look forward to the next time we meet in the ring.

Here is one of my favourite matches with Jackie:

I had some fun matches in SSW as well. I loved working matches with Chris Bang, Kevin Brudaker and Robbie Everest.

One person I have got to know over the last few months is Joe Hendry and I am looking forward to wrestling him on Night 1 of The Super B.O.W.L on May 2nd. The guy has worked so hard to get where he is today and he deserves all the credit and success that is coming his way.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years time in the wrestling business?

Who knows where I will be in 5 years time.

I want to continue to help Reckless Intent grow and establish them as one of the top brands of wrestling in Scotland.

Everything is all depending if I stay clear of injury. My knee plays up every now and then.

My ambition at the moment is to get booked with other companies around Scotland and be a regular face on shows. I am going to continue to work my ass off. Train as often as possible and get myself out there.

10277790_10203537200260697_5905468804910845069_n

