OSWtv Meets…Switch

When did you start watching wrestling and was there a moment that got you hooked?

I think I started when I was round about 10, so 15 year ago, I remember taping the PPV on VHS and running home after school on a Monday. I the only time the first time I really remember getting fully hooked was during the tag team rivalry between the Hardy’s, Dudley’s and Edge and Christian. How the 3 teams played off each other and each match just got more and more exiting leading to the TLC match at, I believe, Summerslam. After that I faded away from it during the WCW take over period and came back to it by watching Wrestlemania 23 and it’s annoying to say but it was John Cena that got me hooked again his match with Shawn Michaels just brought back all the memories of why I used to watch wrestling ever since then I’ve been watching it on and off trying to watch the PPV when I can.

What made you decide to start training to be a wrestler and where did you start?

Was during my work I was helping young people out in the youth centre and one of them asked me how do you learn to wrestle? I was stumped, so I googled pro wrestling in Glasgow and found the old Myspace of the SPWA School in East Kilbride. I went along to see what it was like and fell in love with it something I was going to do for work turned in to a passion. So I have been going along to training every Sunday I’m able now for just over 3 years in the Barrhead School lead by Ross Watson, the school has now evolved in to PBW Academy and how has 3 schools in Barrhead, Airdrie and Greenock Who are your biggest influences in professional wrestling? The guy I looked up to the most as a kid was Bubba Ray Dudley, now Bully Ray; I just loved the way he was in the ring. I wasn’t a big independent guy, so never really watched any of his stuff prior WWE. Now I have expanded my view of wrestling I take a lot of inspiration form more independent workers. Kid Fite is a big inspiration as he keeps pushing me to always reach my potential. He is also an in ring genius he knows what the fans want to see and changes his style to fit the show. I also take a lot of inspiration form a lot of the other trainees as their level of enthusiasm and passion that sometimes can be infectious.

Do you have any favourite matches or opponents that you have worked with?

I enjoy all my matches, but I think it is a toss up between Noam Dar in Maybole and Stevie Xavier in Barlanark. Both guys are so skilled and know the craft inside out and it was an honour to work them both and they gave me my two most challenging matches.

For those not aware of your character, explain Switch.

Switch is the darkest part of my psyche how likes to cause pain and takes enjoyment in scaring people, before a match I let mind go blank and he takes me over. Switch has no sense of any emotion he has more mood swings than a pregnant woman, one minute he is biting your head next he is crying in the corner, he carries about his only friend Flick a creepy teddy , who I swear moves about my flat at night, and hates it when anyone else touches him. From the face paint to the prison jump suit it all shows his instability and how deranged he is.

Where can we see you next?

I’m hoping to get on to more shows this year try and get my name know more down in England and the rest of Scotland. I’ve always wanted to be on ICW as I’ve been helping do security and merch their since the shows in Apollo 23. I’m also going to be attending the Fake or Break camp in Denmark during the summer.

 

You can follow Switch on Facebook HERE

and also on Twitter HERE

