OSWtv Meets…Lucian Maynard-Smith

When did you start watching wrestling and was there a moment that got you hooked?

I watched wrestling on and off around 2000 and 2001, but was more of a casual fan. I started watching wrestling on a more consistent basis around 2004 and built up a vast collection of wrestling videos and DVDs. I cannot really think of a specific moment that got me “hooked” on wrestling, but I can recall going to my first WWE live event and thinking to myself “I could do this if I really went for it.”

What made you decide to start training to be a wrestler and where did you start?

I decided to start training because I thought wrestling would be something that I would enjoy and could potentially get good at. I started training with SWE in March 2009 when they were based in Blairgowrie and started wrestling on their shows in April 2010, where I mainly wrestled in a tag team with Kevin Williams called Project Revolution, winning the SWE tag titles on two occasions and getting to wrestle on the same bill as the likes of Chavo Guerrero and Tatanka.

I ended up leaving SWE in December 2012 and have been mainly training at the W3L Action Academy. I compete mainly for W3L and SSW as “The Notorious Nobleman” Lucian Maynard-Smith, which has afforded me the opportunity to embrace my English heritage, whether it be in singles competition at W3L or as a part of Bang Tidy Britian (with The Alpha Male and Contessa Gwen) in SSW.

I have also been to numerous seminars, including ones hosted by Robbie Brookside, Marty Jones, Johnny Saint, Fergal Devitt and Doug Williams.

Who are your biggest influences in professional wrestling?

My biggest influences in regards to my character and style of wrestling would be Kurt Angle, Jerry Lawler, William Regal and Steve Corino.

I have also learned from and been influenced by those I have met along the way and trained alongside during my times in SWE, W3L and SSW. I have also received great advice and help on different aspects of the profession from Darren T Goss, Prince Ameen, Sara, Taylor Bryden and Allan Grogan, to name a few.

Do you have any favourite matches or opponents that you have worked with?

Over the last couple of years, I have been lucky enough to compete against some of the best wrestlers in the country. I recently wrestled in a triple threat match with Joe Coffey and Liam Thomson at W3L’s live event in Pettycur Bay and have also competed against Joe and his brother Mark Coffey in tag team bouts, which have helped with my development and improvement as a wrestler and I feel like I am improving every time I wrestle. I have also enjoyed competing in matches against Mike Musso, Nathan Reynolds, Falcon, El Technico and The Very Good Mister Euan G Mackie, as well as plenty of others.

Who would be your dream opponent, past or present?

I would welcome the opportunity to compete against Raven, as well as Steve Corino, Ricky Morton and Jerry Lawler. On the British circuit, I would enjoy the opportunity to wrestle against James Mason, Dean Allmark, Wolfgang and Switch.

 

You can catch Lucian at W3L shows on the 23rd and 25th May at the Albert Halls in Stirling and the Ladywood Leisure Centre in Penicuik, the W3L/SSW show at the Howden Park Centre on 24th May in Livingston and the SSW show at the Regal Theatre in Bathgate on 31st May, for more information check out w3lwrestling.com and sswwrestling.com

