OSWtv Meets…Chaz Phoenix

When did you start watching wrestling and was there a moment that got you hooked?

I can’t remember a start point, my early memories are seeing British wrestling on TV but I can say I was 100% hooked by WWF and Hulkamania…that’s right Chaz Phoenix was a Hulkamaniac in the early years, went to a few UK shows as a kid but always left disappointed by the fake Undertakers and doings as most of the time they were never even there. I fell out of watching wrestling in the 90’s. I missed the Monday Night Wars, the Screwjob and most of the Attitude Era. I started watching at a mates house again in 1999, the Armageddon PPV, and was hooked all over again.

What made you decide to start training to be a wrestler and where did you start?

I had pretty much always wanted to do it for as long as I can remember. I was 20 years old in September 2003 and I saw a poster in a window in the town i live in and it was for wrestling training with BSWA (SWE) it had a number to call on it for info on joining I dismissed it as I don’t like talking to people over the phone, a few days later I saw another poster for the same thing and this time it also had an e-mail address on it (much more my style) so I emailed off to David Low and the rest is history, I have been with SWE ever since never missed a training session in my first 8 years went to countless seminars and trained some of SWE’s brightest stars.

Who are your biggest influences in professional wrestling?

It’s hard to pinpoint one person on this question Hogan, Warrior and guys from that era of WWF but also the guys that put on the crappy shows in my local halls because it made me want to deliver a better show for the fans. British Wrestling was damaged massively after ITV dropped WOS and promoters seemed desperate to make money and would just do anything for the quick buck regardless of the damage that was being done in the long term (or that’s my take on it). This has made me be a driving force for giving fans what they deserve and to build a better reputation for local wrestling.

Do you have any favourite matches or opponents that you have worked with?

I would have to say L.J.T has to be a favourite opponent of mine as we just click when we step in that ring, he has been around SWE on and off since 2004 and we have always had good chemistry but NOW in 2014 we have had some great little encounters the guy is an awesome naturally gifted wrestler and one to watch. I have also had the pleasure to stand face to face and go toe to toe with WWE Legend Tatanka this guy hits hard but is a gent and leads the way and make a match easy work.

Also having had the chance to film a segment for SWE YouTube channel with Ted Dibiase has been one of my highlights never in a million years did I ever think that would happen.

If you could choose a dream opponent to face, past or present, who would it be and why?

I really don’t have a dream opponent….. bit weird maybe but thats that

What have been your highlights in your wrestling career?

Four SWE Title runs, tag titles with Magners in The Syndicate, seeing Hell For Lycra grow to what it is today from it just being an idea on a bit of paper, meeting and working with guys that are passionate about wrestling and making it better for all in the long run.

1656025_649565855100304_1569359969_n

You can check out Chaz Phoenix on Facebook HERE

