OSWtv Meets…Scotty Riccio

When did you start watching wrestling and was there a moment that got you hooked?

I started watching wrestling when I was just a baby, as my parents watched it. They told me I used to bounce like mad in my wee bouncer chair when watching wrestling so I don’t really remember a specific time I got hooked.

What made you decide to start training to be a wrestler and where did you start?

I’ve always wanted to be a wrestler from as far back as I can remember but I never thought it would become a reality as I wasn’t aware of any promotions in Scotland until my father noticed a poster in my town centre, advertising wrestling training in Blairgowrie. He told me about it and I was straight down there taking down all of the details and things just took off from there.

Who are your biggest influences in professional wrestling?

I have quite a few actually, the Legion of Doom, Flyin’ Brian Pillman, Ricky “The Dragon” Steamboat, The Rockers, The Undertaker, Stone Cold, Shane Douglas and there’s more but I won’t go on.

Do you have any favourite matches or opponents that you have worked with?

I’ve had so many fantastic matches over the years and I have enjoyed 99% of them, my opponents have been amazing to work with so I will name a few. My matches with Little Jonny Trouble in the SWE have been some of my all time favourites because we are of similar height and weight and wrestle a similar style. Also, one of my matches at Uprising when I faced The Jackal for the SWE Future Division Title, who happens to be my favourite opponents.

What’s next for Scotty Riccio?

Well obviously like every other wrestler I’m hoping to be holding some gold at some point again in my career and maybe wrestle outside of the country too, but I will just have to keep fighting the good fight and taking one step at a time up that ladder, thanks for taking the time to ask me these questions it’s been a pleasure.

You can keep up to date with Scotty Riccio on his Facebook page HERE

Scotty is active with Cash For Kids, if you want to know more about Cash For Kids click on this link.

He’s also very active in raising awareness for Down Syndrome. Find out more at http://www.dsscotland.org.uk/

