OSWtv Meets…Bravehart

When did you start watching wrestling and was there a moment that got you hooked?

I started watching wrestling about 1990, I was hooked on the colours of the costumes and the glitz and glamour of the Pro-wrestling world, but more importantly the size of these guys and the fact that all the good guys stood up for what they believed in and didn’t stand for bullying. As a youngster from the age of 8 until I was 14/15 I was bullied and the wrestling was a great way to escape from all that. I used to wish that I was a wrestler and big enough to take on the bullies. Here I am now 6ft 1″ and 22 stone and I wrestle or train every day…..I think I got my wish. The one thing that stands out in my mind was when the Undertaker put Warrior in the casket and I remember my mum crying because The Ultimate Warrior was her favourite wrestler. I remember my Mum and Ted DiBiase having a really interesting conversation about The Warrior in 2011.

What made you decide to start training to be a wrestler and where did you start?

As I mentioned above, I wanted to stop the bullies and I wanted to be a wrestler. I started in late ’94 or early ’95 in the Recreation Centre in Blairgowrie with a guy named Sonic Boom who at that time was the Tyne & Wear Champion, He became a good friend of mine for many years until he moved away and I wanted to expand my knowledge so I started travelling too.

Who are your biggest influences in professional wrestling?

I think my biggest influences early on were people like Roddy Piper, Ultimate Warrior and Hulk Hogan because they never took any crap and helped me believe in myself at a young age. They gave me courage and never disappointed a wrestling crowd. In my early years as a trainee I always looked up to my coaches Sonic Boom and people like Marty Jones & Danny Boy Collins who I was fortunate enough to meet while on my first tour of England in 1997. In the years that followed I would watch people like Mr Perfect, Ricky Steamboat and of course Bret Hart who inspired my choice of colours later in my career in 2006.

SWE has had a who’s who in wrestling appear in the last 10 years from DDP to “The Million Dollar Man” Ted DiBiase, “Rowdy” Roddy Piper to Virgil, Tatanka to Bret “The Hitman” Hart. Dennis Stamp has been announced for Hell for Lycra XI (August 30th), is there anyone that you would love to see come to Dundee and be part of SWE?

There is so many others that have been here or endorsed us like The Original Diva of the WWE Sunny, Chavo Guererro, Rory McAllistar, Marty Scurll and of course British Legend and a former TNA TV & Tag Team Champion Doug Williams who has been to SWE twice. once in 2010 then again in 2013. In recent months I have worked or trained alongside British Legends Johnny Saint and Marty Jones. There are so many potential stars or superstars to appear in SWE but I need to keep tight lipped as you just never know the outcome and I wouldn’t want to let the SWE fans down.

What have been your personal highlights during your career?

I have had so many, My first promoter was Mad Eli Collins who was the uncle of Danny Boy Collins, he was a hoot – a bit mental, but a hoot. I have worked on the same bill as Rowdy Ricky Knight who is the father of Paige who is making an excellent name for herself in WWE just now, I met her when she was a wee lassie. I have also worked alongside Battle Kat, The Mighty Chang and Dave from the UK Pitbulls who was known as The Bulk in ’97. I have been in the ring with Bret Hart, Roddy Piper, Virgil, Tatanka, Marty Jones, Johnny Saint and my good friend Ted DiBiase, The Million Dollar Man. I was the first Scot that Ted had done his famous “hundred dollar bill in the mouth gag!
When I was SWE Champion, Ted DiBiase and Roddy Piper endorsed and governed the new belt that Paul Martin made and I appeared on Pipers Pit, the first Pipers Pit in Scotland according to Rod. I was also a part of the Scottish Rod Pod which was aired in Dundee and I have defended the SWE championship over Europe. The Championship is such a prestigious title that has had so many great champions hold it, Most recently Damian O’Connor and Ian Ambrose. I was also very lucky to have the chance to train in the Hart Dungeon in Calgary. I could write a book on the SWE, my wrestling career and many other aspects of this crazy fun business.

You’ve fought the best, do you have a favourite match or opponent that you’ve worked with?

I have so many great opponents and it would be wrong to pick just one. One person who I always felt good chemistry in the ring with was Damian or Jonny Lions from Wrestlezone KDY now based in the north of Scotland. I have had good matches with Martyn Stallyon, Mr News and Steven Magners. I would love to get back in the ring and face people like Damian O’Connor and Ambrose. Unfortunately my head injury has left me unable to do that at the moment.

SWE also has the Hart & Soul Wrestling School. What advice do you have to anyone looking to come to the school and break into the business?

My advice to people starting out would be, find a great school with great coaches and pay your dues. Train everywhere and stay keen to learn from anybody who has the knowledge to teach or instruct. I would also say to everyone don’t just go to the most local school because its accessible or cheap, Find out what you want from wrestling and stick in. I have helped train hundreds of people since 2000 and its something you keep learning. If anyone thinks they can be a wrestler in a week or even a year, get a reality check as there are skills that cannot be taught until you’re in front of a live crowd, there is always things you have to learn on the way. I have been fortunate enough to wrestle in many different countries all over the world and that is another way to learn more about this craft.

148235_599092556811875_325070084_n

You can follow Bravehart on Facebook HERE

Find out more about the Hart & Soul Wrestling School HERE

http://www.sweonline.co.uk

