OSWtv Meets…Mr News

When did you start watching wrestling and was there a moment that got you hooked?

I remember my family getting Sky TV back in the mid 80s when I was about 5 and flicking through the channels for the first time. I stumbled upon WWF and more in particular – Hulk Hogan giving a promo. I’d never watched wrestling before but for some reason knew him as “that boxing guy”.

I kept on watching from there with my brother – we were both huge Hulk Hogan and Ultimate Warrior fans so Wrestlemania 6 was huge for us.

I was really hooked when I went to my first live wrestling event at the Reid Hall in Forfar – Giant Haystacks was on the bill…..me and my friends called him fat, he spat on us….yup, that was me hooked.

What made you decide to start training to be a wrestler and where did you start?

I’d always toyed with the idea of becoming a wrestler just because I was such a massive fan. I’d googled a few wrestling schools in Scotland and had a couple of false starts.

I’d attended sessions at BCW and W3L when I was around 21 but that didn’t last too long.

It was a few years later when David Low of the SWE came calling at my work and asked about how they could get a show featuring Ted DiBiase talked about on the radio. Our breakfast presenter, knowing I was a massive wrestling fan, suggested training me up and sticking me in a match – that way he would talk about my progress etc.

From there I started training with the SWE in Blairgowrie and had my first match just two months after starting training.

Who are your biggest influences in professional wrestling?

From watching wrestling – I’ve always loved the likes of Steve Austin, William Regal and Chris Jericho.

I always look back at some classic wrestling and love Les Kellet – his facial expressions and timing are incredible! Add that to his intelligence – always had the crowd in the palm of his hand.

Other influences include Charles Riddell and Damian O’Connor – who are both fantastic trainers and when they speak – you pay attention.

Do you have any favourite matches or opponents that you have worked with?

I’ve worked with so many talented guys including Martyn Stallyon, Johnny Lions, Chaz Phoenix, Randy Valentine and Bravehart.

One of my favourite matches was the “Eye of the Hurricanes” match with Sam Ross during an event featuring DDP.

After the match – DDP called us both aside and told us he loved the match. Later on his weekly podcast he’d call me “one hell of a worker and a great heel” – that’ll stay with me forever.

I’ve also enjoyed every match I’ve ever had with Ian Ambrose – the guy can do no wrong right now.

What have been your personal highlights so far in the wrestling business?

The DDP praise was certainly a highlight – as was hanging with him for the week. He’s probably the friendliest “legend” who’s ever come to Scotland.

The fact that the SWE sold out the Ardler Complex on a Wednesday was a personal highlight of mine too – to have played such a big part in bringing that together.

Everyone involved with that show played such a fantastic role!

Other highlights include my trips to Hungary, winning the SWE heavyweight title and forming the MegaPals with Ravishing Randy Valentine and all our shenanigans on the internet……

You also co-run Discovery Wrestling with Alex Fowlis, how did that come about and what do you guys have in store for us?

I can’t say too much at this stage as there’s a lot of things currently “in the works” but there are lots of exciting times ahead for wrestling fans throughout Scotland – it’s a great time to be a part of the business.

 

You can follow Mr News on Facebook HERE

Also check out Discovery Wrestling HERE

 

Get Involved!

