OSWtv Meets…KT Kane

When did you start watching wrestling and was there a moment that got you hooked?

The first wrestling match I remember watching was the Dudley Boys with Stacy Keibler vs The Hardy Boys with Lita on Smackdown. I must have been around 10 or 11. I was captured by Lita’s daredevil attitude. Every week I would tape Smackdown and skip to all the segments involving the women, haha. Over time I began to watch the whole show and the storylines really drew me in. I admired the wrestlers’ ability to be so confident in front of a crowd and put their bodies at risk.

What made you decide to start training to be a wrestler and where did you start?

It was just after Wrestlemania 28. I found myself googling local wrestling shows, simply out of curiosity, and came across a training school relatively close to me. I emailed them but it was about 6 months before I could pluck up the courage to go. When I eventually did, I became addicted. The training was intense but really enjoyable and fulfilling. I’m currently training with World Wide Wrestling League which is based in Kirkcaldy, Fife.

Who are your biggest influences in professional wrestling?

Trish Stratus and Stephanie McMahon are my biggest female influences. They always came across as strong, fiery women and their promo work is brilliant. I’m not particularly confident so watching them always gives me inspiration and encourages me to be a bigger and louder person. As for men, I really admire William Regal, Kurt Angle, Chris Jericho, Shawn Michaels. I’ve also started watching a lot of old British style wrestling and tried to incorporate that into my current work. I’ve also taken a lot of influence from the people I have trained with. Sammii Jayne, Ian Ambrose, Johnny Lions, Mike Musso, Sara, Euan G Mackie – these are people who have helped me became a better wrestler, a better character, and really helped me develop myself.

You’re just the start of your career, who would be your dream opponent, past or present?

Whenever I say this people give me a funny look – but Eve Torres. WWE is well known for bringing in models instead of wrestlers to boost the divas division. To me, Eve was the whole package and I always really enjoyed watching her work. Like Trish Stratus and Lita, she proved the women weren’t just pretty faces. If it was ever possible, I’d love to wrestle Kurt Angle. He was incredibly talented and will always be one of my favourite wrestlers.

On May 10th you’ll be in Aspen Faith’s corner when he faces Len Ironside at Wrestlezone Aberdeen Anarchy. Last year this event sold out the Beach Ballroom with 1103 in attendance, are you feeling nervous about being in front of such a large crowd?

I was actually in the audience at last year’s Aberdeen Anarchy and I remember being incredibly nervous for everyone taking part, so I dread to think how I’ll be feeling now that I’m involved in the show! I’m not too anxious yet – more excited – and I have all the trust in my team to take the win. I will definitely be slightly relieved when it’s over though, haha.

10346966_10152040474956363_1036787940_n

 

You can see KT Kane at Wrestlezone Aberdeen Anarchy on May 10th at the Beach Ballroom when she is in Aspen Faith’s corner as he faces Len Ironside in a World of Sport Rules match!

One thought on “OSWtv Meets…KT Kane

Get Involved!

