OSWtv Meets…Bobby Roberts

When did you start watching wrestling and was there a moment that got you hooked?

I started watching wrestling when i was about 5 or 6 when Hulk Hogan and The Ultimate Warrior were really big at the time but really got hooked during the Attitude Era when Austin, The Rock and DX started to make watching wrestling cool again.

What made you decide to start training to be a wrestler and where did you start?

I made the decision to train to be a wrestler after I watched Beyond the Mat in 2000. The whole story of Pro Wrestling intrigued me not just the wrestling but the backstage things like booking, putting a show together, promos, the whole business. It wasn’t a case of seeing it on TV and wanting to do it because it looked cool but the whole ins and outs of wrestling. It took me a bit due to personal and financial circumstances but on the 30th April 2011, I stepped through the doors of the Source Wrestling School and haven’t looked back since.

Who are your biggest influences in professional wrestling?

By far the biggest influence has to be Stone Cold Steve Austin. Just his passion alone brings a smile to my face. Some of my influences are Vader and Bam Bam Bigelow. As a big guy I seeing them do aerial moves means a lot. It means you don’t have to be small to do them and gives me more options in matches. But to bring my influences closer to home Damian O’ Connor and Mikey Whiplash have been huge influences in my career so far in the way they have taught me.

Do you have any favourite matches or opponents that you have worked with?

One of my favourite opponents has to be Glen Dunbar. We have faced each other in tag matches and singles and he always brings out the best in me plus I faced him in my debut and that will always be something I will never forget. I also had a match with Paul Tracey which was by far my best match in terms of fan reaction which is always the end goal. I love working with Jackie Polo and also Joe Coffey, Chris Renfrew, Christopher Saynt and DCT.

If you could face anyone, past or present, who would be your dream opponent and why?

That’s a tough one to be honest. There are so many to pick from past and present. I would love to wrestle Jake Roberts even just to learn psychology and movement from him. He was mesmerizing in the ring and and the way he cut a promo would have even a non wrestling fan hooked on his every word.

You can follow Bobby Roberts on Facebook HERE

On Twitter HERE

Catch him at the Source Wrestling School Showcase 2

