OSWtv Meets…Jam O’Malley

When did you start watching wrestling and was there a moment that got you hooked?

Growing up my big brothers where both in to that there the wrestling and used to get a lot of WWF tapes in so that was where I first seen wrestling I would have been about four or five at the time. My first match I remember watching was Brooklyn Brawler v Koko B. Ware. However it was WrestleMania 6 that I can honestly say got me hooked on wrestling.

What made you decide to start training to be a wrestler and where did you start?

Umm does the fact that I really liked wrestling count? 😉 

Growing up I wanted to be a pro wrestler however I had no idea how to go about it. I never lost interest for wrestling but eventually I gave up on the idea of ever becoming a wrestler. My mate Ben (Who would eventually be my flat mate #Benlogic) one day told me about a school that had opened up in Linwood and said that he was going to go to give it a shot. He asked me if I would come with him for a few classes for support so I agreed. Funny how things work out because Ben would eventually quit training regularly after a few months and eventually stop training altogether, however, I continued to train. I don’t know why I stuck around to be honest I didn’t feel like I fitted in at the school. With me being a slow learner and not one of the boys I took a lot of sh*t back then. I don’t know if it was because I was obsessed or I’m stubborn or was possibly too stupid to know better but I wanted to be apart of the wrestling world one way or another. Over ten years later I’m still here and glad I took it all and stuck around.

Who are your biggest influences in professional wrestling?

I have many influences there are too many to name them all to be honest. I could sit here and talk four hours about my influences however names of the top of my head are guys like Jake Roberts, Randy Savage and Adrian Street.

Do you have any favourite matches or opponents that you have worked with?

Glen Dunbar is defiantly my favourite opponent.

I have said it before and I will say it again, Dunbar is the most underrated wrestler in this country. I honestly believe he could get a great match out of a wet mop or even a teddy bear. It’s always a pleasure to work alongside or opposite Dunbar. 

Christopher Saynt is another lad I have had a few run ins with over the years he’s a lot of fun to work he keeps getting better and better. I look forward to seeing what the future holds for Saynt.

Also enjoyed a few matches with Carbon over the last year. I enjoyed working with Carbon he is a class act and would love to wrestle him again at some point. 

I am also fortunate enough to have wrestled a lot of the graduates from the Source Wrestling School. I probably would not still be involved with wrestling at this point if it wasn’t for working with the guys and girls of the Source School. There are some hard working lads and lasses coming up though the school. Its always a great to see their hard work paying. Both O’Connor and Whiplash are great trainers and have a lot to be proud of.

You have a very unique character, what inspired you to be Sideshow Jam O’Malley?

Aww what a nice thing to say.

You’re clearly flirting! 😉

In my time in wrestling I have been a wrestler as well as a referee, a manager, a ring announcer and a commentator and though it all I have always been Jam as it’s who I am. Before being the Sideshow I was Gypsy Jam and Handsome Jam. When trying to figure out what I was gonna do in wrestling I figured that I would be someone more entertaining as I like entertaining people and too many guys wanted to be the cool good guy or even the cool bad guy. However, certain folk didn’t like what I was doing. I overheard folk on more then one occasion calling me things like a clown. Funny folk making fun of me for being a comedy wrestler, considering who is the most recognised Scottish wrestling is in the day and age. I kinda liked it and thought if they want a clown I will give them a clown.
The skirt/tutus came from a crossing character I done and after I stopped doing the character I decided to keep the skirts over my wrestling gear. The way I got my hair cut back then eventually grew to what it is today. It was the night I made my SWE debut it was David Low who said I looked like Sideshow Bob from The Simpsons so that night I had Justin Crow announce me as The Sideshow Jam O’Malley and its been that way ever since. It all worked out well for what the future had in store teaming with The Very Good Mr Euan G Mackie as part of The Z List, to my appearances alongside Mikey Whiplash in ICW, to turning on the fans in SWA and joining The Forgotten. It all worked out rather nicely and I am grateful for the way things turned out.

I truly believe that everything happens for a reason. 

