OSWtv Meets…Mike Musso

When did you start watching wrestling and was there a moment that got you hooked?

December 1993, WWF Mania on Sky One. Its funny, as a kid I never really liked cartoons however was captivated by wrestling clowns, undertakers, dustman, and plumbers. I don’t recall a specific moment…….I do recall feuding Hart brothers and Yokozuna being terrified of coffins.

What made you decide to start training to be a wrestler and where did you start?

I knew very early on that this was what I wanted to do. When I started there was no ‘training schools’. I turned up to events promoted by Klondyke Jake across Scotland. I helped with the ring and the guys would workout with me before the events. I then began training with Jake Roberts who had set up a school in St Albans. Needless to say it irritates me when I hear of people complaining about 1 hour travel times to make training – try sleeping at the station!

Who are your biggest influences in professional wrestling?

I was always a fan of Shawn Michaels growing up and later Triple H. Once I began my training Jake (Roberts) obviously became an influence. Since then I’ve had the pleasure of learning from and working with so many of the veterans of British wrestling too, I try to take something from everyone.

Do you have any favourite matches or opponents that you have worked with?

I couldn’t name one match or opponent, I’ve been lucky to work with all kinds competitors with many different skill sets. I’ve wrestled veterans such as Robbie Brookside, Blondie Barrett, Ricky Knight, Drew McDonald, Johnny Kidd etc… and also guys that I’m proud to have come up through W3L such as Nathan Reynolds, Danny Boy Rodgers, EG Mackie and others.

What have been your personal highlights so far in your career?

I’ve had so many great experiences that I have wrestling to thank for. I’ve travelled all over and had some interesting experiences, wrestling in front of anywhere from 3 to 4000 people is an experience in itself. The time I was involved in a show in Glasgow city centre featuring 150 “Nigerian Dignitaries” as guests was a highlight just for the crazy story. Of course I have to say from a career perspective my experience at a WWE try-out has been the highlight, just as a learning experience it was fantastic. Just this last week I was a part of a wrestling event at a music festival headlined by Tom Jones!

And finally, who would be your dream opponent, past or present?

I’m really not good with picking “favourites”. I’d have loved to do something with Jake. Shawn Michaels would be amazing! Or what about Hogan or Flair? Out of active guys today I’d love to have a match with Cena – he’s on top of wrestling. I want to work with the best, that’s how you get better.

You can follow Mike on Twitter https://twitter.com/MikeMussoW3L
You can also find out more about W3L at http://www.w3lwrestling.com
and on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/W3LWrestling
Photo Credit David J Wilson

One thought on “OSWtv Meets…Mike Musso

Get Involved!

