OSWtv Meets…Ryan Griffin

When did you start watching wrestling and was there a moment that got you hooked?

My earliest memory of watching wrestling was a video I had of Hulk Hogan and distinctly remember the Hogan/Warrior feud from it. I used to watch it over and over but it wasn’t until end of ’97 that I started watching it religiously. Every Friday night, I’d stay at my Gran’s house and me, my two brothers and my cousin would start watching WCW Nitro at 9pm and then at 10pm we’d switch to WWF, as it was called at the time, then flick between the two of them the rest of the night. The Attitude Era definitely had me hooked though, the funniest bit was if the women were on in an Evening Gown match or Bra and Panties match, my Aunt would jump and dance in front of the TV until it was over! 

What made you decide to start training to be a wrestler and where did you start?

I had attended a few wrestling shows in Glasgow throughout 2012 and it dawned on me that most of these guys were Scottish. I had no idea there were professional wrestling training schools in Scotland so me and my wee brother googled “Scottish pro wrestling schools” and up came Source Wrestling School. It took us about a month to actually attend as we had no idea what to expect. If anyone thinks it looks easy to become a pro wrestler then think again. I couldn’t walk for 2 or 3 days after my first training session but I loved every bit of it and tried to attend at least twice a week. Had I known about Source Wrestling School when I was younger I definitely would’ve started training a long time ago. 

Who are your biggest influences in professional wrestling?

Now that’s a question. I’d love to name loads of people here but lets start from the top. I will always consider Mick Foley/Cactus Jack/ Mankind/Dude Love, doesn’t matter what name he goes by, as my all time favourite wrestler. When I was younger watching wrestling I just loved the guy and when he won his first WWF heavyweight championship I remember jumping about like a fanny. However, since I started training, I’ve got to say my influences have been the guys and girls that have either trained me or given me feedback on matches such as Damian O’Connor, Mikey Whiplash, Glen Dunbar, Jam O’Malley and Nikki Storm. One of the best seminars I have attended was with Tommy End. The guy just totally lifts your spirit and pushes you to do things you never thought you could do. I also need to give Lewis Girvan a mention here as I think he is definitely one of most talented guys in the UK right now and has given me some great advice. 

Do you have any favourite matches or opponents that you have worked with?

Since making my match debut in February, I’ve got to say I’ve been privileged to have shared the ring with every single one of my coaches at some point. Every one of them was definitely a challenge but my favourite match I’ve wrestled in is between Damian O’Connor or my most recent match against Rampage Brown. Rampage was such a great guy to be in the ring with, even if he did drop me on my head with a piledriver! 

And finally, who would be your dream opponent, past or present?

Took me a while to think about this but I would love to get in the ring with Claudio Castagnoli (Cesaro) or the late Eddie Guerrero. Cesaro just never ceases to amaze me with some of the stuff he comes out with and Eddie Guerrero was one of those guys that had it all and loved watching him every week.

Find out more about Ryan Griffin on Facebook and Twitter page at:
https://www.facebook.com/RyanGriffinWrestler
https://twitter.com/RyanGriffin13

Get Involved!

