OSWtv Meets…Sara Marie-Taylor

When did you start watching wrestling and was there a moment that got you hooked?

I started watching wrestling when I was about 7/8 years old I think. I can’t remember the specific moment that got me hooked but it was the attitude era that got me. I loved watching The Rock, Triple H, Austin and I got as hooked on the storylines as I did on the wrestling itself. It was watching the women’s division at that time that really made me a fan. There weren’t really two that you could compare – everyone had their own style and character.

What made you decide to start training to be a wrestler and where did you start?

As a kid I never really had any idea what I wanted to do apart from wrestle. As I got older and watched more and more, I thought I HAVE to try this for myself. I started looking into schools at 15 and thought I was going to have to travel down south initially but then one of my mates introduced me to the W3L training school which wasn’t too far from home – and that’s where I started.

Who are your biggest influences in professional wrestling?

There are so many – if I had to pick one I’d say Trish Stratus – I absolutely idolised her as a kid. I loved the fact that she was tough but still girly and feminine. She combined athleticism with personality and beauty – and she stood out from the other divas. It was Trish I tried to emulate when I started training.

Do you have any favourite matches or opponents that you have worked with?

There are too many to list to be honest. I tag with Carmel Jacob as part of the Glamour Gym but for a long time we wrestled each other every weekend and every chance I get to wrestle against her now is still an amazing learning experience for me. I also really enjoy any match I have with Leah Owens because we are so similar and it’s so much fun – the first singles match we had at Fierce Females is definitely one of my most memorable! I also love the rare matches I get with Kay Lee Ray too because she’s absolutely brilliant! I’ve also been able to wrestle Viper a lot more recently which I love because it allows me to try out different things and it’s just a different dynamic from wrestling the others. And lastly, I get to wrestle the younger girls, like Lucy Cole and Emily Hayden a lot too which I love as well.

And finally, who would be your dream opponent, past or present?

Again, there’s so many to choose from but it has to be Trish Stratus.

 

If you want to know more about Sara Marie-Taylor, you can! Check out the following ways.
Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/SMTWrestling
Twitter- http://www.twitter.com/SirenSara
Instagram – saramarietaylor

Get Involved!

