OSWtv Meets…Craig Valant

When did you start watching wrestling and was there a moment that got you hooked?

It’s hard to pin point exactly when I started watching wrestling, but I must have been about 5/6 . My older brother had the old WWF figures. Big Boss Man, Legion of Doom, Undertaker and I remember playing with them more than actually watching but was aware of what was goin on. Fast forward to when I was around 10, it was when the Attitude Era started and that’s when I got hooked. Staying up on Friday nights with my older bro watching RAW is WAR. D-X, Stone Cold, The Rock. Why wouldn’t you get hooked?

What made you decide to start training to be a wrestler and where did you start?

Erm…not sure. It’s not something I ever saw myself doing to be honest but I was walking round the local Asda one night and was getting eyeballed by this guy, eventually he approached me and introduced himself as Will Little. He liked my t-shirt (it was a John Cena one) and asked if I ever wanted to train. Long story short I agreed to meet this guy who I’d just met the followin night in Cowdenbeath and begin training in wrestling. I started training with him and Dave Madison in May last year and eventually Drew Marshall aswell. I stayed with them until my debut for FPW in May this year, but things when a bit astray with the training and I was invited down to the R.I Unit and that’s where I am at today. My training has really taken off down there with the vast amount of experience that is available there and the different styles that people have. It’s good to be able to wrestle against those with differing styles.

Who are your biggest influences in professional wrestling?

I’d have to say my biggest influences in pro wrestling are definitely Chris Jericho and Dolph Ziggler. I’m not a big guy myself, but I’m not the smallest. These guys have a more athletic build and are able to pull off the more athletic moves but still hold their own against bigger guys aswell. If I can achieve this. I’d be more than happy.

Do you have any favourite matches or opponents that you have worked with?

I’ve not been doing this for long but I’ve had some brilliant opponents so far. Andy Wild, Ian Ambrose, Rawlins, Jackie Grady, Venym and Darren Lewis.
It’s a toss up between Andy Wild and Darren Lewis. Andy was my debut match and I learned so much in that time I had in the ring with him. I had a huge turn out in the crowd that night as well which made it all that much more exciting. BUT im gonna have to say my favourite has been…….Darren Lewis. It was at Reckless Intent’s biggest event to date, Over The Top. My confidence was at its highest it has been and Darren was just so easy to work with. Personally it’s the match I’m most happy with myself.

And finally, who would be your dream opponent, past or present?

Dream opponent? Hmm Saint George Bernard…just to get a chance to give him a slap haha! But I think there’s a line ha.
I’d have to say Chris Jericho. Definitely.

One thought on “OSWtv Meets…Craig Valant

Get Involved!

