OSWtv Meets…The Alpha Male

When did you start watching wrestling and was there a moment that got you hooked?

First off I would like to thank you for conducting this interview.

I first started watching wrestling in the 80’s. I was an instant Hulk Hogan fan and I’m pretty sure the first match I ever saw was on a Hulk Hogan compilation tape. He wrestled Macho King Randy Savage with interference from Miss Elizabeth, Sensational Sherri (who got her ass out) Brutus Beefcake and Zeus. I remember Beefcake hitting Zeus with the sheers and they had “no effect”. I was absolutely amazed at the physiques and the pageantry. Being an 80’s kid I grew up on He-Man, Arnold, and Hulk Hogan. It was all about the guns.

What made you decide to start training to be a wrestler and where did you start?

I always wanted to be a wrestler. They looked like bodybuilders, made entrances like rock stars, and fought like superheroes, what’s not to love! I grew my hair long and hit the gym because thats how a wrestler looked from my era. I suppose my identity is rooted in that of my childhood heroes. I remember speaking with David Low of SWE through a mutual friend Iain Stobbie. My first training session was the week before Hell for Lycra 8 in the Bonar Hall, Dundee. David was kind enough to include me on ring crew/security. It was so surreal being in the presence of guys I watched growing up. The Million Dollar Man, Virgil, and Tatanka. I remember thinking, does Tatanka really need that much baby oil, prior to him slapping the hell out of Chaz Phoenix. Credit to Chaz he never avoided one of those chops. Then in the main event security were called and Dave bitch slapped me out of the ring. That was my first week in the wrestling business. I was home!

Who are your biggest influences in professional wrestling?

I have so many. The more I have wrestled the more my tastes have changed. My all time favourites are not necessarily who influence The Alpha Male the most. I always loved Brock Lesnar’s dominance and athletic ability. Test was another one, and Mike Awesome. I’m a big guy in Scotland but (maybe) an above average size guy to WWE. Those guys were all big, but athletic. Test especially had very realistic looking offence in my opinion so I suppose I try to pattern myself more on the athletic big man style. I’m also a big fan of Sid. His presence alone was terrifying and he did very little for maximum effect. I’m a huge fan of that. Depending on the story and who the fans are they need different things. In simplest terms, 80’s for kids, spots for teens, rasslin for IWC.

Do you have any favourite matches or opponents that you have worked with?

I have worked a lot with who I consider the most efficient babyface in Scotland, Scotty Swift. He’s very knowledgeable, works the style of matches that I like and has a great look. I remember seeing him from posters from before I was a wrestler. Euan G Mackie, Falcon and El Technico have all been very fun opponents who allowed me to be creative even though they were the veteran. I have a special place in my heart for the big guys though. Big Tom Bater and Crusher Craib. Its probably just the 80’s kid in me but I like a little meat on my man. I feel we can go a little harder. I bet Jam is getting turned on right now. Some people say my best match is with Shawn Johnson. I really like working Sean but I never spell his name correctly.

Who would be your dream opponent past or present?

If I could wrestle any opponent it would have to be Hogan, no, Undertaker with the streak on the line, no Triple H with Steph on the line. It’s too tough to choose. It would depend on the scenario. I suppose it has to be Hogan. It all started with him and I maintain that I could work around him and have a decent big(ish) man, bigger man match. I used to do the Big Boot. We could work with that. No Fallaway Slams for him haha.

You can keep up to date with The Alpha Male the following ways:
Facebook: The Alpha Male
Instagram: @TheAlphaMaleJonathanGDobie
YouTube: Search Jonathan G Dobie.

