OSWtv Meets…Massimo Italiano

When did you start watching wrestling and was there a moment that got you hooked? 

Hello everybody and first of all thank you for the interview. I started watching wrestling in 1998 about I was like 7-8 years old and was a Saturday morning when me and my sister were watching some cartoons on TV when I was attracted by the WCW wrestlers with big bodies that were doing so spectacular moves with their bodies and I think from that moment changed my life a little. Then 2-3 years later in Italy I started to go on TV weekly and from that moment it changed my life and all my ambitions.

What made you decide to start training to be a wrestler and where did you start? 

I lived all my years of Scuola media e Scuola superiore (that in English are the last 3 years of basic school and 4 years of high school but in Italy we do 5 years) watching everyday wrestling on DVDs or on YouTube so was normal that I decided to start practice. I played soccer for many years and when I retired I decided to start wrestling. I started in Italy, my country, but the level was, and it is still now, low or, better, not good enough for my ambitions. So I decided to move to Canada, then USA, Japan, a little bit Europe and now I’m in Scotland.

Who are your biggest influences in professional wrestling?

I don’t think that I have only one wrestler that influenced me to become a pro wrestler, but all the discipline. If you mean who influenced most of my career for sure one of this is my trainer in Canada Rob Fuego, all the trainers that I had outside Italy were awesome like D-Von Dudley, Ikuto Hidaka in Japan and now Damian O’Connor in Scotland.

Do you have any favourite matches or opponents that you have worked with?

Yes for sure, I wrestled with some awesome wrestlers. In Japan I had the privilege to wrestle with Hideki Suzuki, NWA Heavyweight Champion of Japan. Jason Lee, Ikuto Hidaka and here in Scotland I had two fantastic matches with a very talented wrestler named Ryan Griffin. 

And finally, who would be your dream opponent, past or present?

Of the past, one of my favorites was Shawn Michaels so maybe him, but honestly in Japan I got to wrestle with pro wrestlers that I always watched in TV.

Our thanks to Massimo for taking the time to answer our questions. You can follow Massimo Italiano at the follow links:

Facebook

Twitter

Check out a couple of the matches Massimo mentioned below:

Vs Jason Lee

Vs Ryan Griffin

Massimo Wants To Get Insane!

