OSWtv Meets…Lucy Cole

When did you start watching wrestling and was there a moment that got you hooked? 

Unlike most other wrestlers/fans I didn’t grow up watching wrestling. My ex-boyfriend was a fan and I happened to wander into the living room while he was halfway through some WWE DVD. By the end of it, I think I was more interested than him. That was maybe just over two and a half years ago.

What made you decide to start training to be a wrestler and where did you start? 

It was only a few months after I started watching it that I began to wonder how it was that these men and women had ended up as professional wrestlers. It was a completely new world to me and I was clueless about most of it. I have no idea why I was so drawn to it, but I started researching it and finding out more about British wrestling. It wasn’t long before I found the PBW website and sent an email to find out more about training. A couple of weeks after that I had my first training session at the PBW Academy.

Who are your biggest influences in professional wrestling?

Coming from PBW, it would be impossible not to be influenced by Carmel and Kay Lee Ray. They set the bench mark for all the girls coming through the academy. Outside of British wrestling, I’m a pretty big fan of Gail Kim and use her finisher ‘Eat Defeat’, so that’s quite an obvious influence I guess! I also have a lot of love for Lita and Trish Stratus – the perfect combination of girly and badass.

Do you have any favourite matches or opponents that you have worked with?

I really enjoyed tagging with Kay Lee Ray against The Owens Twins at PBW in Larbert last year. I learnt a lot from all three ladies and the match was great fun. I also had the opportunity to wrestle Angelina Love for Rock N Wrestle in Inverness a few months ago. That was pretty terrifying since she is such an established name, but it was also a lot of fun and a really great learning experience.

And finally, who would be your dream opponent, past or present?

The Rock. I do a pretty mean People’s Eyebrow.

You can find out more about about Lucy on Facebook and on Twitter

Get Involved!

