OSWtv Meets…Adam Carrel

When did you start watching wrestling and was there a moment that got you hooked?

I can’t remember what age I was exactly, but in primary school my brother and I would rent WWE PPV VHS tapes from Global Video, and that was the only wrestling we seen really as we didn’t have Sky. My Dad did take us to wrestling in Kirkintilloch Town Hall once – I’d love to see a program from it now as I have no idea who was on it. Then between the ages of around 12 and 16 I didn’t really watch much, but started again when digital TV started coming around and you could watch WWF, WCW and ECW on TV. I guess like a lot of kids we were fascinated by the stars of the ‘golden’ era – Hogan, Warrior, Jake the Snake, British Bulldog etc.

What made you decide to start training to be a wrestler and where did you start?

After not doing so for a few years, I wanted to take part in something physical. I had dabbled in rugby and basketball during university, but they never stuck. I actually trained very briefly around 9 years ago when SWA still trained in Linwood, but again I wasn’t focussed enough. At that point in my life I wasn’t focussed enough on anything really, but then around 6 years ago I got things together and started training Jiu-Jitsu and Muay Thai. A couple of years after that the Source Wrestling School moved to Ibrox and that’s when I started training there regularly.

Who are your biggest influences in professional wrestling?

I think your trainers will always be a big influence, and so Damo and Mikey Whiplash are definitely that. I love Japanese wrestling – Shinsuke Nakamura is probably the best in the world at this point I would say – and like many I like to watch back World of Sport stuff as there is a lot to learn there. I’m influenced by what’s going on in the UK right now too – the level of talent is really high.

Do you have any favourite matches or opponents that you have worked with?

Well I would have liked it more if I had won, but I enjoyed wrestling Mark Coffey in Ardrossan recently. When he hits you – you know about it, but I’d like to think I gave him the same back.

And finally, who would be your dream opponent, past or present?

Well I try not to dream too much and just focus on who my actual opponents are, but I’d love to test myself against Nakamura or Tanahashi, and maybe Ric Flair in his prime. Before all that though I need to get my hands on DCT.

You can find out more about Adam on Facebook and Twitter

