OSWtv Meets…Lad Chapman

When did you start watching wrestling and was there a moment that got you hooked?

Wrestling has always been a part of my life. I vividly remember being a wee boy and having videos of Wrestlemania VI and VIII in the house, watching them over and over. Randy Savage was the man, Ric Flair was a big choppy rascal, it was an exciting time. Between then and getting Sky, it was a case of getting a lend of PPVs taped on long-play VHS. 

What made you decide to start training to be a wrestler and where did you start?

I started training to be a wrestler initially just to test myself and have better craic than you’d get at the gym. A year has passed, things are getting more serious, and eh…..here we are.

Who are your biggest influences in professional wrestling?

From times past, my biggest influences are Flair, Roddy Piper and Jake Roberts – men who mastered the art of emotional investment and told great stories. More recently, I find myself looking to the wrestling styles and personalities of Cesaro, Chuck Taylor and Finn Bálor.

Do you have any favourite matches or opponents that you have worked with?

My favourite match so far has been with Bobby Roberts and Solomon. Even though a handful of tights stopped things going my way, I feel it was a belter and a decent landmark for this very early stage of my career.

And finally, who would be your dream opponent, past or present?

It’s hard to pick one body for a dream matchup. When my training has come on a good bit, working with Kenny Williams would be excellent. If you’re talking anybody ever, maybe Daniel Bryan or Sami Zayn.

You can catch Lad Chapman, and the wrestlers of Caithness Pro Wrestling, on August 22nd for the Pride of the Highlands Tournament at Wick Assembly Rooms. You can follow Chapman on Facebook and find out the latest about Caithness Pro Wrestling on Facebook for more information.

 

