OSWtv Meets…Daihlan Hendry

When did you start watching wrestling and was there a moment that got you hooked?

I suppose you could say wrestling was my teenage rebellion because I wasn’t allowed to watch wrestling when I was younger. I had watched a few WWE PPVs at friend’s houses and enjoyed them however the first time I knew I was a fan was when I went on holiday with my friend’s family to Skegness and we saw a show at Butlins. From then on I started watching as much as I could and by about 2nd or 3rd year of High School I watched Bryan Danielson (Daniel Bryan) vs Nigel McGuinness from Ring of Honor and I’ve been watching pretty much everything since.

What made you decide to start training to be a wrestler and where did you start?

I started at the Source Wrestling School when I was in my first year of Uni. I had moved from Helensburgh to Paisley and didn’t really know anyone. So during the Christmas break I started looking for things to do in the area and the school popped up. At first I thought, worst case scenario, I’d be rotten but I could at least have some time out the house and I can talk to folks about wrestling. However my poor coaches have now been stuck with me for about 5 years and I’m still loving every second of it.

Who are your biggest influences in professional wrestling?

There’s quite a lot to be honest.

Obviously I wouldn’t have got anywhere without the help from my two head coaches, Damian O’Connor and Mikey Whiplash, in both the technical and mental aspects but I’ve benefited greatly from the advice from some of the other highly experienced wrestlers at the school such as Nikki Storm, Glen Dunbar and Jam O’Malley to name a few.

I have also been highly influenced by seminars from such wrestlers as Doug Williams, Jack Gallagher and Zack Sabre Jr.

As for other people I have watched that I have tried to emulate Kurt Angle, Chris Beniot, Bob Backlund, Finn Balor and Daniel Bryan.


Do you have any favourite matches or opponents that you have worked with?

The Forgotten (Glen Dunbar and Alex Cavanagh) have taught both myself and Manlon (Manateur Wrestling) quite a lot in the times we have faced each other probably my favourite match we had was our tag title qualifier for Pride Wrestling.

Another Manateur Wrestling match I really enjoyed was our Source Wrestling Showcase match with the now named Headliners (Matt Daly and Joe Smyth). I think all four of us really showed just how much we have all improved and hopefully we can do it again soon.

As for non tag matches one that stands out was my ‘House of Horrors’ handicap match against Jam O’Malley and Alex Cavanagh at Pride Wrestling. I think I learned a lot in that match which will benefit me in the future.

And finally, who would be your dream opponent, past or present?

Pretty much everyone I’ve tried to emulate would be a dream opponent and a good test to see just how much I’ve learned so far.

You can find out more about Daihlan on Facebook and Twitter along with Manateur Wrestling also on Facebook.

Get Involved!

