OSWtv Meets…Wild Bill

When did you start watching wrestling and was there a moment that got you hooked?

I think I was about 4 or 5 when I started watching wrestling. I used to sit on the couch with my Dad, watching repeats of World of Sport on a Saturday afternoon. What got me hooked was when they started showing WCW tapings on TV, the massive flashing light and big set for the show with bigger characters and over the top gimmicks had me glued to the TV. I remember being terrified of Vader the first time he came out on TV with the massive helmet that shot smoke out the top.

What made you decide to start training to be a wrestler and where did you start?

I attended a show in my hometown ran by WZW which had Jake “The Snake” Roberts performing on it (a show which also had the debut of two of The Nattrass Boyz (who would later train me in Target Wrestling). I really enjoyed the show, even though Jake was fairly out of it at the time, and was talking to one of the organizers afterwards who told me about a training school in the Newcastle area. So me and a friend went out a couple of times to the school but affording the travel and training was hard at the time so I had to stop, then years later I went to Target Wrestling’s ‘All or Nothing Tour’ in 2013 and they mentioned they were starting a training school in Carlisle so I started training again there and have been since.

Who are your biggest influences in professional wrestling?

My biggest influences in wrestling are: 

Chris Jericho, Mainly for the over the top rockstar persona I’ve given myself (this isn’t exclusive to wrestling, I used to DJ local rock nights under the name Wild Bill and had a similar character on the microphone there too).

Dusty Rhodes and Vader. When I was trying to put together moves I wanted to do in the ring I watched a lot of the heavy built guys from the 80’s for ideas of what to do.

Dusty had the constant fighting back even when he was at the bad end of a beat down which is great to keep fans behind you during a match.

Vader had the moves that were designed to just crush his opponents which come in handy when you’re a big guy.

Do you have any favourite matches or opponents that you have worked with?

Medallion for Target Wrestling we’ve had a lot of matches and I love them all however we had a No DQ falls count anywhere match for one of our first shows in a larger venue in Carlisle which was really good fun.

Martin Kirby is a fantastic talent and a genuinely nice guy who is undoubtedly one of the best wrestlers in the UK right now and an absolute pleasure to work with in the ring.

Liam Thompson, again, definitely a huge talent and pleasure to work with in the ring. I’d happily work with him anytime.

Iestyn Rees is one of the few opponents I’ve been in the ring with who was bigger than me. I’ve never had anyone slam me so easily and hard haha. He gave me quite a bit of great advice after our match too, it was really appreciated.

And finally, who would be your dream opponent, past or present?

It would be a hard choice between Shawn Michaels, Eddie Guerrero and William Regal. All three are amazing talents, personally William Regal has always been an amazing wrestler and greatly underrated for most of his career. As for Eddie and Michaels they both are up there in contention for best of all time. All three are personal heroes of mine and the chance to wrestle any of them would be a huge honor.

You can see more about Wild Bill at Target Wrestling on Facebook.

 

Get Involved!

