The Life of Smith: Parties, Reviews and Previews


After a night of firsts in Berwick-upon-Tweed earlier this month, I was back in the ring last Saturday for a W3L-themed birthday party show at the W3L Action Academy, where my opponent was a familiar foe in Mike Musso. It was another losing effort for yours truly and the fact that the birthday party attendees were encouraged to hit me with inflatable hammers did not help matters. They seemed to enjoy themselves at the party though, which was hosted by MC and referee for the afternoon Stevie The Wizard.

W3L have recently uploaded the entirety of their ‘Remedy’ event to the W3L Network. This event took place in Buckhaven on the first Sunday of this month. The chosen post-production theme music for this event and that of The Contingency Plan decided by W3L’s media team is enough to give it a watch in my opinion, but there is plenty of action and all three W3L championships are on the line, with the feature attraction being the ladder match for the W3L Championship between Mike Musso and Nathan Reynolds, which ended in controversial circumstances.

Outside of actual wrestling shows, I have been looking to improve my strength and conditioning and to become more consistent with my in-ring training. I have been training most Sundays at the Source Wrestling School in Pollockshaws, Glasgow over the last few weeks and I have enjoyed honing my craft there and learning from both Mikey Whiplash and Lewis Girvan. Despite having not trained there for long, I am already feeling and seeing a difference and look forward to what awaits moving forward.

I have also entered a Deadlift competition that will take place at the Fit4less gym on Main Street in Dundee on Saturday 22nd April. I have never entered a competition of this nature before, so it gives me a new and interesting challenge to work towards and I have managed to start off well, with me pulling off a 180kg 1RM (one rep maximum) last week, which is a new record and 7.5kg more than my previous record. I am currently working with the Perth-based Alpha Fitness so I can work towards an even better record.


Next week will see me appearing at the Pro Wrestling Impulse ‘Revival’ show at the Lochside Club in Dumfries. The show is taking place on Saturday 4th March and will feature a name familiar to ICW fans in Davey Blaze, as well as a “Judge Rinder victory celebration featuring Craig Stephens and Britain’s Got Talent contestants Zedd and Saffire.”, with the latter most certainly sounding interesting. I have heard rumours of who my opponent might be, but for more info please visit the Pro Wrestling Impulse Facebook page.

After double checking my itinerary, I have found that I am free this Saturday (25th February), as well as next Thursday and Friday (2nd and 3rd March) for bookings. Many thanks to those who have liked and retweeted my recent tweet in regards to this, but I am available for bookings on these dates and for more info, you can contact me via Facebook (/maynardsmithlucian), Twitter (@smithtacular88) and Instagram (lifeofsmith24). Ultimately though, that is the life of Smith. Good day.

