The Life of Smith: Bear with me, I have been struggling to come up with a title for this week’s blog.

My weekend started with a 7am wake-up call. With me being somewhat of a night owl, I sometimes forget that 7am is an actual time, but I was up for then last Saturday and on the road just after 8am as I made the 90 minute drive from Fife to the Source Wrestling School for a private training session with head trainer Mikey Whiplash and Source Wrestling standouts Bete Noire and Shaun Walker. It was a productive and enjoyable session and I always enjoy any time I spend at Source. I have found things such as my conditioning and footwork to have improved recently and I am noticing the difference when I am in the ring.

After that, I made the journey from Glasgow to Twechar, where I would be wrestling for Reckless Intent and making my debut in Twechar, which is not too far from Glasgow and near Kirkintilloch. After my sat nav, that is in desperate need of an update, kept telling me I was driving through a series of fields, I got to Twechar and discovered that the venue had a random monument of a bear outside it, which is one of the finest features of a venue I have ever seen and many bear-themed puns were shared between myself and The Headbanders of Rob Mills and Jackie Grady, until we could no longer bear any more puns.

The bill for this show included yours truly facing Theo Doros in a rematch from our bout in Livingston, my fellow Paul Tracey Guy, comrade and current Reckless Intent Slam Champion David Devlin going one-on-one with Grado in a non-title match and his lordship, THE Lord of the Manor and Reckless Intent Heavyweight Champion Paul Tracey defending his championship against Chris Renfrew. I suffered another unfortunate loss to Theo Doros after I became overconfident after nailing him with The World’s Strongest Smith and Devlin sadly lost to Grado, but after some tremendous officiating from referee Jarek Nowak, his lordship retained his championship against Renfrew.

photo credit David J Wilson
After getting home at a reasonable time of 11pm, I found myself enjoying a post-show spa and a cider, a ritual that I could very well get used to and one that helped me as I ended up back on the road the next day and at the Source Wrestling School hosted by Tyler Bate. I found Tyler to be helpful in me overcome things such as the fear of going over my own head for backward ring exits and doing things that I usually avoid doing. My attempt at a Moonsault was Terry Funk-esque and I struggle to do a second-rope elbow drop without pointing to the sky like the late Randy Savage, but I do plan on introducing the diving elbow into my repertoire at some point in the future. I might even do one off the top rope! Oooooh yeah!!!

All in all, it was a weekend that reinforced my love for this sport and I look forward to what the future holds. This Saturday (May 6th) will see me back at Reckless Intent as I face off against Dave Conrad in what will be a first time encounter between us two. Tickets for this show are available at www.reckless-intent.com. The 13th May will see me wrestling for W3L in both Stockton-on-Tees and Harrogate in the Seven Deadly Sins tournament, with the battle royale and first round of the tournament taking place in Stockton and the semi-finals and final taking place in Harrogate. I will be wrestling for W3L again on Sunday 14th May in Kinghorn, Fife and on Thursday 18th May in Oban. Tickets for these shows are available at www.w3lwrestling.com. Expect more goings on and announcements to be made in the near future, but until then, that is the life of Smith. Good day.

Get Involved!

