The Life of Smith: One In A Million

This week’s blog was mainly going to explore the Jedburgh W3L show that has recently been and gone, as well as previewing this week’s series of shows that are taking place in the W3L calendar, but having recently attended the Download festival in Donington and witnessed NXT at the festival, I decided to change this week’s topic, as there are a lot of things that I want to share that have been running through my mind over the last few days and even months.

Having attended Download festival and witnessed NXT live, it made me proud to be a British wrestler and happy to see so many lads and lasses from the UK make it to the big time, especially as I have been fortunate enough to wrestle on the same bill as and even wrestle some of the British folk killing it right now. Even though the scene has been subject to some abrupt and unfortunate show cancellations recently, I believe that the British scene is still strong at that we are now at the point where the British wrestlers are the stars and that there is not as much of a reliance on wrestlers from overseas as there once was.

Witnessing NXT has also given me some much-needed motivation for my own career. I have recently been trying to put more of an effort into my craft, but have found my motivation levels to have somewhat of a yo-yo effect this year. I often find the “post wrestling-blues” kicking in after spending time on the road and being back in the real world, as I feel like wrestling is the job I want to do and the career path I would prefer to venture towards, rather than an everyday job or career most people my age are grafting in. I get to a point where I feel like I am at the top of my game, but then go into a brief slump before working my way up the gears again.

I am frequently reminded by some that wrestling is “just a hobby”, which is a phrase that often aggravates me due to the amount of time, effort and money I have put into this “hobby” over the eight years I have been involved in it. I have also been told that “one in a million” make “good money” out of wrestling and that I should put my university degree to good use by focusing on a career that offers a good wage, holidays and pension. This aggravates me even more I have been lucky enough to see parts of the UK I would likely never visit if it wasn’t for wrestling and I believe that wrestling has made more of a man out of me than any other job, course or experience has during my life. Wrestling motivated me to go to the gym, to better myself physically and mentally and work towards goals that would often be deemed as impossible to the outsider looking in.

A lot of lads have devoted their twenties to either going out on the town every weekend, overseas holidays once a year, getting married, starting a family and/or working their way up the career ladder. My hat goes off to them if that’s what they aspire to do, but I am proud to have devoted my twenties to doing something I have wanted to do since I was a quiet, overweight 15 year old with next to no athletic merit. The “one in a million” comment that I mentioned earlier has only made me want to strive to get further and I have found that the only person stopping me from becoming that one in a million is me.

Apologies if this has turned into somewhat of a rant, but I felt like this was the best place to address certain things that were on my mind. I will be at the W3L shows this Friday and Saturday at Wester Hailes and Grangemouth, as well as the W3L show on Thursday 29th June in Penicuik. I will also be teaming up with his lordship ‘The Lord of the Manor’ Paul Tracey and fellow #PaulTraceyGuy David Devlin against Dave Conrad, Theo Doros and a partner of theirs that has not yet been announced, as Reckless Intent returns to the Murieston Scout Hall in Livingston. For more information, you can visit the W3L and Reckless Intent Facebook pages as well as mine. Until then, that is the life of Smith. Good day.

