The Life of Smith: Double Trifecta

I was wrestling for W3L last Friday and Saturday, as they hosted live events in Wester Hailes, Edinburgh on the Friday and in Grangemouth Town Hall on the Saturday. W3L were also hosting two gala days on the Saturday, with one being in Cowdenbeath and another being in Burntisland, as well as a live event on Sunday in Haddington. It was another busy weekend for W3L and an eventful one as well.
The day started with picking up the ring van from Rosyth and then heading to W3L HQ. We were short-staffed for loading everything into the van, but we managed to get on our way and survive City of Edinburgh Bypass traffic before making it to the Wester Hailes Education Centre. This would be my first time at this venue and the show promised to be a good one, with Impact Wrestling Superstar Bram challenging James Scott for the W3L Championship.

I was in the opening match in Wester Hailes, facing Dickie Divers and Dave Jeremi in a triple threat match. I have faced both of these men in one-on-one competition before and after a fair amount of back and forth, it was Dave Jeremi that picked up the win after pinning yours truly following his version of a Michinoku Driver. The show also featured a tag team grudge match, where Mike Musso and El Technico faced The Very Good Mister Euan G Mackie and Timm Wyllie and a Women’s Championship match between Leah Owens and Debbie Sharpe.

There were reports that the W3L Championship match between James Scott and Bram became very eventful, with multiple tables (including the merchandise table!) and nearly the W3L sound system being casualties of this match. I was expecting there to be some sort of mayhem during this match and from being able to hear the crowd reactions from the dressing room, it sounded like the Wester Hailes crowd enjoyed the mayhem! I am hoping that this match is aired on an episode of Showdown at some point in the future, but Bram will be returning to W3L on Saturday 22nd July as W3L debuts in the Fife Ice Arena in Kirkcaldy.

After arriving home into the early hours of Saturday morning, I was up by 7am and out the door by half 8 to pick up Kevin Williams and a referee that might be familiar to SWE fans in Daniel Devlin-Gibb. After dropping them off for a gala day, it was off to Grangemouth. I always enjoy wrestling in Grangemouth due to the loud crowd and loyal fanbase and despite there being a gala day in the town on the same day, it was still a decent turnout and I found myself to be a busy bee at this show, with me firstly competing in another Triple Threat match, a match type that is slowly becoming my reverse specialty (along with the flag match), with my opponents this time being Jason Reed and The Very Good Mister Euan G Mackie. Reed was the winner after pinning me via a Banter Boot and taking Mackie out of the game with a Super Calvin Recliner.

Earlier in the day, I managed to acquire a manager’s license. I mentioned this to the Grangemouth crowd after the triple threat match, and advised that my manager’s license allowed me to manage the best, the beautiful and the only, Emily Hayden in her match versus Sara. Myself and Hayden were able to gain an advantage during the match and for my own amusement, I decided to push Sara off the top rope, which unfortunately cost Hayden the match and me deciding to further amuse myself by choking Sara with my wrist tape caused Jason Reed to make the save and challenge us to a main event mixed tag team match, which myself and Hayden reluctantly accepted.

During this match, I amused myself even more and aggravated not only the Grangemouth audience, but Sara and Reed by taking as much time as I wanted getting into the ring. I also found a bumbag at ringside and got tremendous ringside photographer David Wilson to take a photo of me with the bumbag. Emily Hayden also stole the seat of MC Stevie Wizard. Amazing. The end result was not as amazing however, as Sara managed to nail me with a Chick Kick and Jason Reed pinned me (again) with a Calvin Recliner. This concluded my wrestling weekend which also saw Jamie Jones referee the full Grangemouth show, as well as refereeing the Sunday show in Haddington. Good man.

I was fortunate to have the Sunday off, which involved a cracking Rump Steak at the Balgove Larder Steak Barn in St Andrews and ice cream as well. My next shows will be for W3L on Thursday 29th June, as they return to Penicuik Town Hall and also for Reckless Intent Wrestling, as they return to the Murieston Scout Hall in Livingston and myself, David Devlin and his lordship Paul Tracey take on Dave Conrad, Theo Doros and a partner of theirs that is still a mystery. Tickets for these shows are available at www.w3lwrestling.com and www.reckless-intent.com. Until then, that is the life of Smith. Good day.

