The Life of Smith: Unforeseen Circumstances and Better Circumstances

A couple of weeks ago, I posted a blog explaining that wrestling is what I want to do with my life and how frustrated I get when people on the outside dismiss it as a hobby. The blog was entitled ‘One in a Million’ and was one of, if not my most well-received blog yet that can be found on the OSWtv website. A week after posting that blog, I contacted W3L management advising that I would not be able to make their Penicuik live event on Thursday 29 June, which was the first time in a long time I have had to pull out of a wrestling show.

I am not injured (I have been extremely lucky to have had no serious injuries from wrestling since I started) and nothing drastically bad has happened in my life. Like most wrestlers in this country, I have a day job outside of wrestling and on this particular occasion, I have not been able to get the time off required to make the Penicuik show, which is an utter pain but one I will have to endure. On an almost daily basis, I have had dreams of handing in my notice because I am making a decent amount of cash pennies from wrestling and busy enough that I can tell them to shove it, but sadly I am not in that position yet and hopefully I will get to that point somewhere down the line.

The ‘due to unforeseen circumstances’ line is something that I often see pop up whenever a show has been subject to cancellation or postponement, or when a wrestler scheduled to appear can no longer make a show. I used this line to explain my absence from W3L this Thursday, but I thought it would be nice for me to give some sort of explanation to what the circumstances were and I am hopeful I do not run into this problem in the future, as wrestling is something I want to do and I hate going back on my word, as sometimes that is all you have in life.

On a brighter note, I will still be competing for Reckless Intent Wrestling this Saturday at the Murieston Scout Hall in Livingston, as myself, David Devlin and his lordship, The Lord of the Manor Paul Tracey will be in 6-Man tag action versus Theo Doros, Dave Conrad and a partner of theirs that is still a mystery as I write this. I will have The Very Good Mister Euan G Mackie as company on my journey to Livingston and he will be competing against former Z-List comrade Jam O’Malley.

I will also be making my debut for United Pro Wrestling, at their show at the Peterhead Community Centre on 22 July, with the show being a part of ‘Peterhead Scottish Week.’ I am looking forward to making my debut for this company, and bringing some ENGLISH culture to Scottish week. I am sure the people of Peterhead will warm to it. Expect there to be more announcements to take place regarding the show itself over the next few weeks.

As always, you can find Lucian Maynard Smith on Facebook, Twitter (@smithtacular88) and Instagram (lifeofsmith24). Next week will detail the fallout from this Saturday’s Reckless Intent show, a show where tickets are still available from www.reckless-intent.com. The show will also see James Scott defend his Reckless Intent Heavyweight Championship in an open challenge, a champion versus champion match as Reckless Intent UK Champion DCT takes on Reckless Intent Slam Champion Dickie Divers, as well Kieran McColm taking on Delsin Dayre. Michael Chase and Chris Renfrew will also be appearing at the show. Until then, that is the life of Smith. Good day.

Get Involved!

