The Life of Smith: Back On The Road

After a couple of weeks away from the business, it will be back on the road for yours truly, as I debut for United Pro Wrestling this Saturday. I am looking forward to debuting for a new promotion and catching up with some of the people that will be at the shows, as it has been years since I have seen a lot of them. The show will be taking place at the Peterhead Community Centre and will be a part of ‘Peterhead Scottish Week’, an annual event that takes place in the town and I have said it before and will say it again, but it will be good to have a very, very, very, proud ENGLISHMAN bring a bit of flavour from south of the border.

From what I have seen of United Pro Wrestling, they use a lot of home-grown talent, with one of them being ‘Livewire’ Zack Matthews, a man I remember competing against in 6-man tag team action for W3L back in 2012. I have been impressed by the man that is known as ‘The Greatest Wrestler of All Time’ and there is also Stallyon, a man that I remember coming up the ranks with back in the day and a man that has reinvented himself over the years. His alliance with The Very Good Mister Euan G Mackie is an interesting one, no doubt.

United Pro Wrestling also use a wide range of talent from outside their Aberdeenshire base, with familiar opponents of mine in Michael Chase and Theo Doros competing at their last show in Mintlaw as a tag team. The last show also saw Lucha DS and Johnathan Richards of PBW fame battle once again, but in triple threat action with former SWE Future Division Champion Steven ‘Air’ Myles being the third man in the triple threat equation. With such a mixture of talent, it will be interesting to see who my opponent will be and expect there to be a video from yours truly addressing the upcoming show and my opinion on ‘Scottish week.’

This Sunday will see me return to Source Wrestling, as they host their showcase at their wrestling school in Pollokshaws, Glasgow. The last showcase saw me beat Cobra Carr in my debut and I will be looking to pick up another win. I have heard rumours of who my opponent could be and if the rumours are true, then I look forward to it as there is a bit of a backstory between myself and my rumoured opponent. The last showcase also saw an impressive debut for Mark J Wilson, who took on the head trainer of Source in Mikey Whiplash, along with an action-packed elimination match featuring a man currently touring with All Japan Pro Wrestling in Massimo Italiano. Tickets for this show are only £5 and can be purchased on the door. Expect to see a mixture of future stars, such as Mark J Wilson and Grant McIvor, along with established Source graduates and roster members such as David Devlin and Robbie Solar, as well as some debuts also.

It will be good getting back on the road again. I am hoping to one day turn my passion into a full-time living and I feel like 2017 has been my strongest year so far. Improving my craft at Source, spending some time learning from El Ligero and Marty Jones at Grapple, going to seminars, a relatively busy spring/summer schedule and debuting for two new promotions is a brief summary of the last seven months and I am looking forward to what I will experience over the next five months! All in all though, that is the life of Smith. Good day.

