The Life of Smith: Source According To Smith

The day after debuting for United Pro Wrestling, I was on the road again, but this time to Glasgow for training at the Source Wrestling School in the afternoon followed by the Source Wrestling Showcase in the evening. My life outside of wrestling often prevents me from attending mid-week classes at Source, so I do what I can to attend the Sunday classes. The Sunday morning drive from Fife to Glasgow is usually a pleasant one and over time I have become accustomed to Glasgow’s ‘five lanes of doom’ motorway, something I never thought would happen!

Current Discovery Wrestling Y Division Champion and former ICW Zero G Champion Lewis Girvan was taking training during the afternoon, with there being a mixture of fundamentals, counters, holds and drills being covered. I struggle to attend training as much as I like to these days, but I always enjoy making the journey to Glasgow and learning every time I attend.

After training was all said and done, it was time to set the school up for the Source Wrestling Showcase, which is basically a small-scale academy show that takes place at the Source Wrestling School itself and the audience often consists of family and friends of those on the bill for the show. These shows often see a mixture of debutants, rookies, graduates and established pros and Source roster members.

I found myself in the opening match for the evening, as I faced off against MATT DALY, a regular on Source Wrestling shows and a man that I can recall training with at the last training camp I went to that was led by Johnny Moss and Marty Jones. I feel like I have come a long way since then and it was a competitive match that helped warm up the audience for the rest of the show. However, as I write this, I still have Mr Daly’s entrance music stuck in my head and I cannot see it going away any time soon!

This particular Source Wrestling Showcase saw ‘Futureshock’ Tom Fulton return to Source Wrestling, who travelled through time and space to battle one half of the Titans of the North in Rowan Frey. It was good catching up with the former, with him being a hit with the audience with his colourful attire and catchy entrance music (which is also now stuck in my head!)

Source Wrestling’s next show will be taking place at the Rutherglen Scout Group Hall in Burnside on Saturday 12th August. The bill is already shaping up to be a good one, with both members of The Titans of the North being in one-on-one action, as Rowan Frey takes on Chris Renfrew and Alexander Darwin MacAllan battles Jackie Polo. Expect there to be more match announcements over the next several days and visit the Source Wrestling School Facebook page for more information.

This Saturday will see me return to Reckless Intent for their biggest show of the year: Cruel Summer. I will be teaming with Sara Marie-Taylor as we face the Headbanders combination of Rob Mills and WWE Mae Young Classic competitor ‘The Amazon’ Ayesha Raymond. I am looking forward to this one and it will be a first time for me teaming up with Sara. I will also be at United Pro Wrestling this Sunday, as I battle JFC in one-on-one competition on a show also featuring ROH star Colt Cabana. I am looking forward to both of these shows and expect there to be write-ups of both shows over the next couple of weeks. Until then, that is the life of Smith. Good day.

